Link to State Law: Wyoming State Statutes
The following information is meant to be a guide. It is believed to be accurate at the time of authorship but may not reflect the most current data due to changes in the law. If you require legal assistance or guidance with regard to Wyoming state law, contact an experienced attorney.
Statute of Limitations: A Wyoming medical malpractice claim must be filed within two years of the date of the act or omission that caused the plaintiff's injury, or within two years of the date the injury was or reasonably should have been discovered. If a medical malpractice case involves a minor, the claim must be filed within the two year medical malpractice limitations period or by the minor's eighth birthday, whichever is later.
Minimum Qualifications of Expert Witnesses: There are no special rules regarding the qualifications of expert witnesses who are allowed to testify in Wyoming medical malpractice cases.
Limitations on Monetary Damages: Wyoming law does not place caps on the damages that can be recovered in a medical malpractice lawsuit.
Limitations on Attorney Fees: For recoveries up to $1 million in Wisconsin medical malpractice lawsuits, attorney fees are limited to 1/3 for cases which settle prior to 60 days after they are filed, and to 40% for cases which are subsequently settled or for any judgment. For any recovery over $1 million, attorney fees are limited to 25% of the recovery.