Time Limit - Statute of Limitations

An individual who has developed mesothelioma as a result of asbestos exposure can file a lawsuit against the party responsible for the exposure. If the mesothelioma patient has already passed away, a family member can bring a claim on their behalf. In many cases, the defendant in the mesothelioma case is an employer, manufacturer or government organization.

When filing a mesothelioma claim, it is important to act quickly. Each state has a different statute of limitations (or time limit) in which to file the claim. Generally, the mesothelioma statute of limitations begins the date the individual is diagnosed. If the time period runs out, the mesothelioma patient and their family may never be able to take legal action.

The statute of limitations for a mesothelioma case in each state are as follows:

State Statute of Limitations   State Statute of Limitations
Alabama   2 years   Montana   3 years
Alaska   2 years   Nebraska   4 years
Arizona   2 years   Nevada   2 years
Arkansas   2 years   New Hampshire   3 years
California   2 years   New Jersey   2 years
Colorado   2 years   New Mexico   3 years
Connecticut   2 years   New York   3 years
Delaware   2 years   North Carolina   3 years
District of Columbia (D.C.)   3 years   North Dakota   6 years
Florida   4 years   Ohio   2 years
Georgia   2 years   Oklahoma   2 years
Hawaii   2 years   Oregon   2 years
Idaho   2 years   Pennsylvania   2 years
Illinois   2 years   Rhode Island   3 years
Indiana   2 years   South Carolina   3 years
Iowa   2 years   South Dakota   3 years
Kansas   2 years   Tennessee   1 year
Kentucky   1 year   Texas   2 years
Lousiana   1 year   Utah   4 years
Maine   6 years   Vermont   3 years
Maryland   3 years   Virginia   2 years
Massachusetts   3 years   Washington   3 years
Michigan   3 years   West Virginia   2 years
Minnesota   2 years   Wisconsin   3 years
Mississippi   3 years   Wyoming   4 years
Missouri   5 years