State: North Dakota
Link to State Law: North Dakota Statutes
The following information is meant to be a guide. It is believed to be accurate at the time of authorship but may not reflect the most current data due to changes in the law. If you require legal assistance or guidance with regard to North Dakota state law, contact an experienced attorney.
Statute of Limitations: According to North Dakota law, medical malpractice actions must be filed within two years of the date giving rise to the injury, or within two years of the date that the injury was or should have been discovered. A medical malpractice suit may not be commenced more than six years after the act or omission giving rise to the injury. For medical malpractice cases that involve a minor, the statute of limitations may not be extended by more than twelve years.
Minimum Qualifications of Expert Witnesses: There are no special rules regarding the qualifications of medical malpractice expert witnesses who testify in North Dakota medical malpractice cases.
Limitations on Monetary Damages: Noneconomic damages in medical malpractice suits are limited to $500,000. Economic damages awarded in excess of $250,000are subject to review by the court.
Limitations on Attorney Fees: North Dakota law does not impose special limits on attorney fees in medical malpractice lawsuits.