Link to State Law: Nebraska Statutes
The following information is meant to be a guide. It is believed to be accurate at the time of authorship but may not reflect the most current data due to changes in the law. If you require legal assistance or guidance with regard to Nebraska state law, contact an experienced attorney.
Statute of Limitations: In Nebraska, medical malpractice claims must be filed within two years of the act or omission giving rise to the claim, or within one year from the date the injury was or should have been discovered. If the claim involves a minor, the statute of limitations begins to run on the minor's twentieth birthday. Regardless of when the injury is discovered, all actions must be filed within ten years of the date of the act or omission giving rise to the claim.
Minimum Qualifications of Expert Witnesses: There are no special rules regarding medical malpractice expert witnesses in Nebraska medical malpractice cases.
Limitations on Monetary Damages: In Nebraska, the total amount recoverable from health care providers is limited to $500,000 per defendant, or a total of $1.25 million for all defendants. The Excess Liability Fund pays recovery in excess of these limits.
Limitations on Attorney Fees: Attorney fees may be reviewed by a court for reasonableness.