Link to State Law: Missouri Statutes
The following information is meant to be a guide. It is believed to be accurate at the time of authorship but may not reflect the most current data due to changes in the law. If you require legal assistance or guidance with regard to Missouri state law, contact an experienced attorney.
Statute of Limitations: A medical malpractice action must be commenced within 2 years of the date of discovery of the act or omission giving rise to injury and no more than ten years from the date of that act. If a minor under the age of 8 is injured by medical malpractice, a medical malpractice action must be filed by his or her 20th birthday.
Minimum Qualifications of Expert Witnesses: Missouri does not impose any special rules on medical malpractice expert witnesses who testify.
Limitations on Monetary Damages: Non-economic damages for medical malpractice actions were capped at $500,000 in 1986, to be adjusted annually for inflation.
Limitations on Attorney Fees: Missouri does not impose any special restrictions on attorney fees in medical malpractice cases.