Link to State Law: Code of Georgia
The following information is meant to be a guide. It is believed to be accurate at the time of authorship but may not reflect the most current data due to changes in the law. If you require legal assistance or guidance with regard to Georgia state law, contact an experienced attorney.
Statute of Limitations: 2 years from the time of injury or death and in no circumstances longer than 5 years. In cases of foreign objects, 1 year from the time of discovery. For minors, 2 years from their fifth birthday if the injury occurred before the fifth birthday. (§9.3.71-73)
Minimum Qualifications of Expert Witnesses: The complaint must contain an affidavit of an expert, stating that the claim of medical negligence is justified by the facts. (§184.108.40.206)
Limitations on Monetary Damages: The limit for punitive damages is $250,000, unless it is shown that there was intent to harm. (§220.127.116.11)
Limitations on Attorney Fees: There are no limitations on attorney fees.