Link to State Law: Colorado Statutes
The following information is meant to be a guide. It is believed to be accurate at the time of authorship but may not reflect the most current data due to changes in the law. If you require legal assistance or guidance with regard to Colorado state law, contact an experienced attorney.
Statute of Limitations: 2 years following the date the injury was or should have been discovered but not after 3 years following the act. In cases of foreign objects, the statute of limitations is 2 years following the discovery. Children injured under the age of 6 must file before their 8th birthday. (§13-80-102.5)
Minimum Qualifications of Expert Witnesses: Must be licensed as a physician and familiar with the standard of care at the time of the injury. (§13-64-401)
Limitations on Monetary Damages: Total damages are limited to $1,000,000. Non-economic medical malpractice damages are limited to $300,000. (§13-64-302)
Limitations on Attorney Fees: There are no limitations on attorney fees.