Link to State Law: Unofficial Arkansas Code
The following information is meant to be a guide. It is believed to be accurate at the time of authorship but may not reflect the most current data due to changes in the law. If you require legal assistance or guidance with regard to Arkansas state law, contact an experienced attorney.
Statute of Limitations: 2 years, unless it involves the discovery of a foreign object, in which case the statute of limitations is one year from the time the object was or should have been discovered. Children younger than nine years old may bring a medical malpractice lawsuit until their eleventh birthday. (§16-114-203)
Minimum Qualifications of Expert Witnesses: The medcial malpractice witness must be licensed to practice in the same specialty as the defendant. (§16-114-206)
Limitations on Monetary Damages: Punitive damages may not exceed $250,000 or three times the amount of the medical malpractice economic damage. The latter may not exceed $1,000,000. These limits are periodically adjusted for inflation. (§16-55-205 – 209)
Limitations on Attorney Fees: There are not limits on attorney fees.