Link to State Law: Code of Alabama
The following information is meant to be a guide. It is believed to be accurate at the time of authorship but may not reflect the most current data due to changes in the law. If you require legal assistance or guidance with regard to Alabama state law, contact an experienced attorney.
Alabama Statute of Limitations (Time Limit): 2 years. In the case that the injury was not immediately discovered, the statute of limitations is 6 months from that time that is was or should have been discovered. No lawsuit can be filed if 4 years have passed since the date of the act, unless the victim was less than 4 years old, in which case the statute of limitations is extended to the child’s 8th birthday. (§6.5.482)
Minimum Qualifications of Expert Witnesses: The medical malpractice witness must be licensed to practice in the same specialty as the defendant and must have practiced within the preceding year.
Limitations on Monetary Damages: While state law has two caps on monetary damages, both have been ruled unconstitutional.
Limitations on Attorney Fees: There are no limitations on attorney fees.