Chapter 17 of the West Virginia Vehicle Code covers licenses and titles, antitheft provisions, fees and penalties, and all-terrain vehicle regulation. The code also includes West Virginia Traffic Law, covering topics such as traffic signs and signals, accidents, speed restrictions, right of way, pedestrian’s rights and duties and passing.
West Virginia enforces the Implied Consent Law which means by having a driver’s license, you already consent to taking a chemical breath test. If you refuse the test, your driving privileges could be suspended or revoked from one year to life. West Virginia also enforces the Zero Tolerance Law for minors who drink and drive. Those under the age of 21 with any traceable amount of alcohol in their system can be charged with a DUI. Penalties for first offense for those 21 and older are jail time from 24 hours to six months; fines from $100 to $500; and a license revocation for six months.