Kentucky traffic laws are found under the Kentucky Revised Statutes. The vehicle code includes information on penalties, traffic regulations, special permits, child restraints and parking rules. The laws may be helpful if you have been issued a traffic violation.
Kentucky DUI laws consider those with a blood alcohol level of .08% or more to be legally drunk. The state also enforces the implied consent law, which allows police officers to issue a breath, urine or blood test if they believe the driver has been drinking.
A first DUI offense in Kentucky can carry penalties of license suspension for 30 to 120 days; a $200 to $500 fine; two to 30 days in jail; 90 days in a substance abuse program; and 48 hours to 30 days of community service. A second offense can cause a license suspension for 12 to 18 months; $350 to $500 fine; seven days to six months in jail; one year in a substance abuse program; and 10 days to six months of community labor. You may also have to install an ignition interlock device on your car, immobilizing the vehicle unless you blow a BAC level of .02% or less.