The Iowa Transportation Code could come in handy if you have been issued a traffic violation. The code outlines Iowa traffic laws covering speeding, passing and penalties for moving violations.
Under Iowa DUI law, it is illegal to drive if your blood alcohol concentration is .08% or more. Iowa follows the implied consent law which means you must submit to a breath, blood or urine test if a police officer suspects you have been drinking. If you refuse, your license will be taken away for one or two years. A first operating while under the influence (OWI) offense can include fines up to $1000, jail time from two days to one year and loss of license for six months. A second conviction within 12 years will earn you loss of your license for two years, a week to two-year jail sentence and fines between $1500 and $5000. You will also need to complete a drinking and driving education course and a substance abuse evaluation for all offenses.