Understanding the Connecticut Motor Vehicle Code may help if you have been issued a traffic violation. The Code contains Connecticut traffic laws covering illegal u-turns, driving without insurance, registration or a license, seat belt and child restraints, speeding, reckless driving and running a red light or stop sign.
Connecticut DUI law states that when you receive a driver’s license, you are subject to “implied consent” to be tested for a DUI. If you refuse a DUI test in Connecticut, your license will be suspended and you could lose your driving privileges for at least six months. For a first DUI offense, you can lose your license for at least 90 days or for at least six months if you refuse to take a blood, urine or breath chemical test. Criminal penalties in Connecticut for a first DUI conviction include one-year license suspension, up to a six month jail sentence and a fine from $500 to $1000. A second DWI offense carries penalties of a one-year license suspension, two years with an ignition interlock device, up to a two year jail sentence, 100 hours of community service and a fine from $1000 to $4000.