Link to State Law: Mississippi Statutes
The following information is meant to be a guide. It is believed to be accurate at the time of authorship but may not reflect the most current data due to changes in the law. If you require legal assistance or guidance with regard to Mississippi state law, contact an experienced attorney.
Statute of Limitations: Medical malpractice actions in Mississippi must be commenced within 2 years and not more than 7 years from the date of the act or omission which resulted in injury, or from the reasonable date of its discovery.
Minimum Qualifications of Expert Witnesses: A medical malpractice expert witness for a Mississippi medical malpractice case must be a licensed physician.
Limitations on Monetary Damages: Mississippi caps medical malpractice non-economic damages at $500,000.
Limitations on Attorney Fees: Mississippi does not place any special restrictions on attorney fees in medical malpractice cases.