Link to State Law: Maine Statutes
The following information is meant to be a guide. It is believed to be accurate at the time of authorship but may not reflect the most current data due to changes in the law. If you require legal assistance or guidance with regard to Maine state law, contact an experienced attorney.
Maine Statute of Limitations: Medical malpractice actions must be brought within three years of the date of the alleged negligent act or omission. In cases involving retained foreign objects, the action does not accrue until the harm caused by the object is discovered or reasonably should have been discovered.
Minimum Qualifications of Expert Witnesses: There are no special requirements for medical malpractice expert witnesses in Maine.
Limitations on Monetary Damages: In medical malpractice wrongful death cases, damages are limited to $400,000.00 in economic damages and $75,000.00 in punitive damages.
Limitations on Attorney Fees: Attorney fees may not exceed 1/3 of the first $100,000.00, 25% of the next $100,000.00, and 20% of any recovery in excess of $200,000.00.