Link to State Law: Kansas Statutes
The following information is meant to be a guide. It is believed to be accurate at the time of authorship but may not reflect the most current data due to changes in the law. If you require legal assistance or guidance with regard to Kansas state law, contact an experienced attorney.
Statute of Limitations: 2 years from the act or reasonable discovery but in no circumstances longer than 10 years from the time of the act. (§60.513)
Minimum Qualifications of Expert Witnesses: Medical malpractice expert witnesses must have at least half of their time, over the course of the preceding two years, spent in clinical practice. (§60.3412)
Limitations on Monetary Damages: Non-economic medical malpractice damages are limited to $250,000 by each defendant. Punitive damages are limited to the lesser of the defendant’s highest gross income over the preceding 5 years or $5,000,000. (§60.19a02) If the profitability of misconduct exceeds this previous limitation, the court may award 1.5 times the profit instead. (§60.3702)
Limitations on Attorney Fees: The court must approve attorney fees. (§7.121b.)