Link to State Law: Hawaii State Revised Statutes
The following information is meant to be a guide. It is believed to be accurate at the time of authorship but may not reflect the most current data due to changes in the law. If you require legal assistance or guidance with regard to Hawaii state law, contact an experienced attorney.
Statute of Limitations: The statute of limitations is 2 years from the time of discovery but cannot exceed 6 years from the time of injury. Minors must file by age ten or within 6 years, whichever is longer. (§657.7.3)
Minimum Qualifications of Expert Witnesses: There are no specific minimum qualifications.
Limitations on Monetary Damages: Pain and suffering medical malpractice damages are limited to $375,000. (§663.8.5, 8.7)
Limitations on Attorney Fees: The court must approve attorney fees. (§607.15.5)