Link to State Law: Connecticut Legislative Documents
The following information is meant to be a guide. It is believed to be accurate at the time of authorship but may not reflect the most current data due to changes in the law. If you require legal assistance or guidance with regard to Connecticut state law, contact an experienced attorney.
Statute of Limitations: 2 years following the date the injury was or should have been discovered but not after 3 years following the act. (§52-584)
Minimum Qualifications of Expert Witnesses: Medical malpractice witnesses must be a similar healthcare provider or have sufficient training and experience in a related field of medicine. If not a specialist, to be an expert physician, one must be licensed by the appropriate board and practicing for no less than 5 years preceding the injury (§52-184c)
Limitations on Monetary Damages: There are no limitations on monetary damages.
Limitations on Attorney Fees: The limitations on attorney fees are on a sliding scale. They may not exceed 33 1/3% of the first $300,000, 25% of the next $300,000, 20% of the next $300,000, 15% of the next $300,000, or 10% of damages exceeding 1,200,000. (§52-251c)