South Carolina Motor Vehicle Law covers topics including driver’s licenses, vehicle registration, traffic tickets, criminal penalties and driver training schools.These laws can be found under Title 56 of South Carolina's Code of Laws.
South Carolina operates under Implied Consent law, which means when you apply for a license you consent to being administered a chemical test if a police offer believes you have been drinking. The legal limit for drivers 21 years or older is .08%. South Carolina also requires mandatory videotaping of the arrest and breathalyzer test. Penalties for a DUI conviction include fines from $400 to $3600, license suspension and higher insurance rates.