The Rhode Island Vehicle Code includes chapters on registration of vehicles, theft, pedestrians and miscellaneous rules. The Code also details areas of Rhode Island Traffic Law including passing, use of lanes, rules of the road, speed restrictions and divided highways.
Also found in the code are the Rhode Island DUI laws. First time offenders with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) between .08% and .10% can receive fines from $100 to $300; have their license suspended up to six months; serve up to one year in jail; serve up to 60 hours of community service; and face a Highway Safety Assessment. First time offenders with a BAC level between .10% and .15% can receive $100 to $400 in fines; one year in jail or community service; and license suspension up to a year.