North Carolina’s Vehicle Code is Chapter 20 of the state’s General Statutes. The chapter outlines traffic definitions and North Carolina traffic laws regarding passing, right of way, signaling and turning at intersections.
North Carolina DUI law charges those driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher with driving while intoxicated (DWI). First DUI convictions can lead to a license revocation for one year; fines up to $2000; one day to two years in prison; and 24 hours of community service.
It is also illegal in North Carolina to:
- Drink alcohol while driving
- Transport an open container if the driver has alcohol in his or her body
- Have alcoholic beverages, open or closed, in the passenger seat