The New Mexico Vehicle Code outlines anti-theft provisions, unsafe vehicles, licensing dealers and wreckers. The code also discusses New Mexico traffic law including signs, signals and markings, accidents and penalties for traffic violations.
Under New Mexico DUI law, those driving with a blood alcohol level of .08% or higher will have their license revoked on the spot by the police officer. People who refuse to take a breathalyzer test will also have their license taken away. Mandatory penalties for those driving while intoxicated include imprisonment up to two years; fines up to $5000; community service up to 96 hours; driver education courses; psychological evaluation; and ignition interlock devices.