Mississippi Motor Vehicle Code can be located under Title 63 of the State Code. It explains Mississippi traffic laws and motor vehicle laws. The code covers topics including driver’s licenses, seat belt usage, traffic regulations and violations, motor vehicle safety and financing laws. The Mississippi Code also includes implied consent laws and penalties for operation of a chop shop.
When you receive your Mississippi license, you are giving implied consent to be tested for drugs or alcohol during a traffic stop. If you refuse, you will be arrested. Driving under the influence in Mississippi requires a blood alcohol level of .08% or higher. For a first DWI conviction, your license will be suspended for 90 days to a year, you will receive at least 48 hours in jail and you will pay fines between $250 and $1000. A second conviction results in a two-year suspension of your license, up to a year in jail and $600 to $1500 in fines.