Michigan vehicle code covers all areas of Michigan motor vehicle law including anti-theft laws, civil liability act, financial liability act, the effect of traffic laws and penalties. These laws can be helpful if you are issued a traffic citation.
Michigan DUI law states that drivers with a blood alcohol level of .08% or higher are legally drunk. A first time operating while intoxicated (OWI) offender can face up to 93 days in jail; up to a $500 fine; six points on his or her driver’s license; maximum 360 hours community service; and up to 180 days with a suspended license. Drivers with drugs in their system no longer have to be proved they were impaired when driving to be convicted. Michigan has zero-tolerance drug provisions.