Massachusetts traffic laws cover driving without a license, obeying signs and signals, hit and run, reckless driving, speeding and unlawful vehicle modifications. Familiarizing yourself with these traffic regulations can be helpful if you are issued a traffic citation.
In Massachusetts, you can be arrested for operating under the influence (OUI) if you have a blood alcohol level of .08% or higher. You can refuse a breath, urine or blood test, but the officer can take away your license on the spot. A first OUI offense carries fines between $500 to $5000, jail time up to two and a half years and a suspension of your driver’s license for a year. This sentence can be reduced if the driver completes an alcohol education program. A second offense results in a fine between $600 and $10,000, jail time between 30 to two and a half years and a suspended license for two years.