Maine’s Vehicle Code contains laws passed for the protection and safety of drivers. The code may be helpful if you have been issued a traffic citation. It includes Maine traffic laws covering u-turns, accidents involving death or personal injury, accidents involving vehicle damage, driving to endanger, traffic control devices, use of seat belts and speeding.
Under Maine DUI law, a person is legally drunk if they register a blood alcohol level of .08% or higher. If you refuse a breathalyzer, urine or blood test, your license can be suspended up to six months. Maine has strict penalties if you are arrested for operating under the influence (OUI). For a first offense, you will lose your license for 90 days and be fined a minimum of $400. A second offense carries an 18-month suspension of your license, at least seven days in jail and at least $600 in fines.