The Illinois Vehicle Code includes traffic laws and information including anti-theft laws, suspension of licenses, driver penalties, speed restrictions, right of way and traffic signs.
Illinois DUI law states if you are pulled over for a moving violation and your blood alcohol level is .08% or higher, your license will be suspended for 180 days. If you are convicted of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, your license will be suspended for one year (two years if you are under 21). If you refuse a breathalyzer, urine or blood test, penalties may follow under the Statutory Summary Suspension law. If you take a test and fail, your license is suspended for 180 days. If you refuse the test, the suspension will last a year. After a first Illinois DUI offense, a breath alcohol ignition interlock device will be installed on your vehicle.