Hawaii traffic laws consist of a few chapters under the state’s Revised Statutes, which can be found on Hawaii legislature’s website. The code contains information on driver license suspension, motor vehicle registration laws, traffic violations and statewide traffic codes.
Hawaii DUI laws consider those driving with a blood alcohol level of .08% to be under the influence, though drivers with a BAC of .05% may also be arrested. A first DUI offense can lead to a drug or alcohol program, 90-day license suspension and up to 72 hours of community service. A second offense can lead to fines between $500 and $1500, five to 14 days in jail of 240 hours of community service and a one-year license suspension.