The Florida Vehicle code, found in the Florida Statutes, may help you if you have been issued a traffic violation. The code covers Florida traffic laws including parking rules, traffic citation regulations, speed limits, licensing regulations and procedures and safety belt usage.
Driving under the influence in Florida is defined as operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .08% or higher. A first DUI offense carries fines from $250 to $1000; community service; probation; jail time up to nine months; jail time for at least two years if you kill or injure someone; and driver license revocation. A second Florida DWI conviction carries fines from $500 to $2000; jail time up to nine months; and driver license revocation for at least six months. Drivers under 21 with a blood alcohol level of .02% or higher are subject to a six-month suspension.