The Colorado Vehicle Code, also known as the Colorado Revised Statutes, contains all Colorado traffic laws. The Colorado traffic regulations can be found under Title 42: Vehicle and Traffic. The code contains information regarding driver’s licenses, registration of vehicles, automobile theft law, motor vehicle financial responsibility law, speed regulations and right of way.
Under Colorado DUI law, two levels of alcohol-related driving offenses exist. Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) is the more serious offense and refers to any motor vehicle driver with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher. Driving while ability is impaired by alcohol or drugs (DWAI) is the lesser offense, but still carries hefty fines. DWAI refers to drivers with a blood alcohol level between .05% and .07%.
A first DWAI offense carries penalties of 8 points toward license suspension, $100 to $500 fine, two to 180 days in jail and 24 to 48 hours of community service. A first DUI offense results in a license suspension for a year, $300 to $1000 fine, five days to one year in jail, 48 to 96 hours of community service and alcohol education for three to nine months.
By driving a motor vehicle in the state of Colorado, you automatically give “express consent” to be administered a chemical test to measure your blood alcohol level. If you refuse, your license will be revoked for a year. Drivers under 21 with a blood alcohol level between .02% and .08% face automatic revocation of their license. In addition, your license will be revoked if you are underage and get caught with alcohol in your vehicle.