The California Vehicle Code contains all traffic laws for California. The code includes all California traffic regulations and covers the registration of vehicles, antitheft laws, rules of the road, financial responsibility, towing and loading, off-highway vehicles, hazardous materials, and safety regulations. Referring to California traffic laws may help you better understand your traffic violation.
In California, when you sign for your driver’s license you give “implied consent” to have your breath, urine or blood tests if a police officer believes you are driving under the influence. Refusal to take a breathalyzer or other test will result in a suspension of your license. If you are later convicted of a DUI or DWI you may face jail time, a higher fine and ineligibility for a restricted license.
If the officer finds your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) to be .08% or above, he or she will take your license away. California DUI law imposes strict penalties on a first conviction. You can receive up to six months in jail, fines between $390 and $1000, a penalty assessment, loss of license for six months and must complete a DUI program up to nine months. If you face a second or third DUI offense, you will lose your license for two to four years. After this time period and a completion of a nine-month DUI course, you are allowed to drive as long as your car has an ignition interlock device which will not start the vehicle unless an alcohol-free breath is blown to start the car.